The sesame made me do it

It happened again.

Inspired by this recipe at cozywalls, I made sesame sauce to toss with spaghetti squash for lunch and ended up eating the entire squash. At least yesterday it was squash; last time it was a whole package of buckwheat udon.

I made a good faith effort: I divided it into two generous portions, put one in a plastic container in the fridge and the other on my plate. I sat down to eat, and the flavor was fantastic! The texture of the spaghetti squash was unusual, and the way it interacted with the texture of the sesame made me roll my eyes. I’ll just have another taste, I told myself. There’s still plenty for tomorrow, I reasoned. And before long, the plastic container was empty.

I wish I could say, “I can’t believe I ate the whole thing,” but I can and do believe it. It was that yummy.

Thanks to the lower density (and lower caloric content) of the spaghetti squash, I didn’t feel grotesquely bloated as I did after I finished off the sesame-coated udon a couple weeks ago. I don’t think one can actually feel virtuous about having single-handedly eaten an entire squash in one sitting, but it could have been worse. (Is that rationalizing?)

I can’t seem to lay off the sauce – I store plain noodles in the refrigerator all the time without the least temptation to pull them out and eat them. Amy at cozywalls says the stuff tastes even better if left to sit overnight, but I’m beginning to doubt that I will ever find out for myself.

So here is the plan from now on: I will only make half as much sesame sauce, and toss it with just half of the noodles (or medium du jour). If this strategy doesn’t work, I may need an intervention.

And here, so you can develop your own sauce habit, is the recipe:

Quick and Addictive Sesame Sauce

2 tbsp. sesame tahini
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
1 tsp. hot sesame oil
1 tsp. minced garlic
sesame seeds for garnish (toasted or not — your preference)

Stir together first four ingredients and toss with cooked noodles, spaghetti squash, cucumbers, broccoli, snow peas, bean sprouts, shredded cabbage, or anything else that sounds good. Sprinkle with sesame seeds. (Makes enough sauce for 8 oz. package of noodles.)

4 responses to “The sesame made me do it

  1. Oh my lord that sounds so good…and I have all the ingredients on hand! I haven’t made hummus in awhile, so I have this tahini just hanging out waiting for something to do… dinner tonight (but alas, no spaghetti squash…gonna have to be noodles!)

    • That’s the best (and worst) thing about this sauce: it’s so easy to make, and I always have the ingredients on hand. I just have to admit that I’m powerless over sesame sauce and only make as much as I intend (beforehand, while I’m still rational) to eat.

  2. “… the way it interacted with the texture of the sesame made me roll my eyes.” Haha, you made me laugh. I can see it now — Jennifer’s 50-Shades of Noodles recipe book..

Leave a Reply

