Beyond words

An unspeakable tragedy has befallen a friend, and I nevertheless find myself groping helplessly for words to fling into the void.

Unspeakable

I am a box with the lid
removed, unable to hold
thought or feeling or will
for motion. Voices rattle and the wind
tears through me: funeral
and four-year-old do not belong
in the same sentence.

 

4 responses to “Beyond words

  1. Jenn–I’m so sorry.

  2. OH no! I am so very sorry! Sometimes words are just not enough. Heart-breaking isn’t even the word.

Leave a Reply

