Day twenty-four poem: LexPoMo 2017

LexPoMo2017Still playing catch-up from my weekend travels. I suppose you might call this a kind of found poem, another exercise from The Daily Poet. I’m going to take my mother to get her hair done more often.

Reblogged from the Lexington Poetry Month blog.

Overheard at the hair salon

The pain is a ten, but every time
I feel it I say, There’s that blue
five again. Sometimes it shoots
down my arm like a river
branching into my hand.

And my shoulder grates
like gravel. I can picture a plate
with holes in it, grinding
and catching as it moves.

2 responses to “Day twenty-four poem: LexPoMo 2017

  1. i know what you say in words. i dont twitter, tweet, facebook, instagram… etc…. i wanted you to know there is understanding. mine also (only more differently)
    thank you for taking the poetry challenge. it is a good day.

Leave a Reply

