Day 12, NaPoWriMo 2017

napo2017button1I can always count on tarot to spark my imagination. This is from the Fairy Tale Tarot (Lisa Hunt, 2009), a gorgeous deck that is out of print but digitally available thanks to The Fool’s Dog. This image came from their Tarot Sampler IV.

Look deeper

A woman may swallow a seed
that is not a seed and bear
a child that is not a child.

A selfish old man may indulge
himself by pretending
to indulge his grandson.

A child that wants to play
with a box may be a raven
who steals back the sun.

A child may be a raven.
A box may hold the sun.
A thief may be a hero.

Things are not always what they seem.

7 responses to “Day 12, NaPoWriMo 2017

  1. I love using tarot decks for poem inspiration! Gorgeous card, and gorgeous poem.

    • Thank you, Emma! Tarot cards are my favorite prompt, which is why I’m making a concerted effort this WriMo to use other techniques. But I’ve allowed myself to use tarot in a pinch. 😉 Thanks for reading and commenting.

  2. Love this poem, even the creepy shivers I got from it.

Leave a Reply

