The merry month of May

A small part of me is relieved to have official respite from the enforced discipline of the NaPoWriMo challenge, but I chiefly feel wistful that this most convenient excuse to put aside things other than writing has come to an end. Now I really do have to address all those deferred duties (ugh!), but I intend to maintain the daily habit of writing.

I will most certainly not post every day, though. It’s great motivation, but it’s not truly sustainable, either for me or for my readers. It stands to reason that I’ll continue to post regularly because I’ll continue to write regularly (this post grew out of my notes and reflections on the month’s activities), just not every day. You’re welcome. [wink]

Besides, I have other things to do during the month of May: welcome my eldest home from college, see my youngest through the end of her school year, teach a writing class (here’s a link if you’re interested), attend family graduation events, and…

…get ready for June, which is Lexington Poetry Month! Yes, my daily writing goal will get a nice boost from my local writing community. I plan to take part in that month-long writing challenge as well as various other poetic activities around town. Information on the 2016 celebration hasn’t been posted, but next week is the release party for the 2015 anthology, & Grace. (I’m ditching a Very Important Board Meeting to attend — shhh, don’t tell anyone!)

Stay tuned!

5 responses to “The merry month of May

  1. You have some fun things lined up, Jennifer! Have always wanted to see Lexington. If you have any travel tips, pass them on? Don’t know if it will be this summer but perhaps next year. We all want to see the derby, of course, but also the surrounding areas and other local sights. Happy May!

    • Oh goodness, Carla – there’s so much to see and do, I don’t think I could fit it in a comment! But…I might be able to cover it in a blog post or three. 😉 If you decide to come this summer and want to make plans soon, drop me a note through the contact page and we can correspond by e-mail. Thanks for the inspiration, as always! 🙂

  2. Will do, Jennifer! I look forward to the blog posts. 🙂

  3. Congrats on making it through the month! That is how I felt at the end of September when I did the Tupelo daily challenge. Good luck with the course! I posted a link on my Facebook page. I hope you post about the experience!

Leave a Reply

