NaPoWriMo, Day 15

Today is the NaPoWriMo halfway point, and I feel pretty good about my participation this year. I’ve only missed posting one day: yesterday, because yesterday’s poem was a little too ambitious for the time I had to devote to it. I couldn’t give it enough shape to even make sense. I’ll keep working, though, and it may yet make an appearance this month.

As if to reward me for refusing to panic that I didn’t have a post yesterday, today’s poem popped up almost fully formed. The prompt was the Five of Cups from the Zombie Tarot. (Click here to see the card.)

Remnants

The dead do not always depart. They linger
in the notes of a song, the seasonal changes
of light, the blooming of a particular flower.

We feel them hovering, watching, and we wonder
what they want from us, why they cannot leave us
to bury the guilt with our grief.

 

NaPoWriMo 2016

glopo2016button1

Welcome, global readers and poets!

Leave a Reply

