NaPoWriMo, Day 1

Today marks the beginning of National Poetry Writing Month, or NaPoWriMo for short. We know this to be An Actual Thing because there is an official web site: www.NaPoWriMo.net. Check it out, because the site has links to all sorts of challenges, prompts, exercises, you name it.

What am I doing for NaPoWriMo this year? I’m glad you asked! I will be presenting a workshop next month on using tarot (and similar pictorial resources) as a tool for writing, so I have decided that my daily prompt will be a card drawn from my collection of physical and virtual decks.

Although I have committed to writing a poem every day, I will not necessarily post every day. Experience has taught me that my work is not always ready for a wider audience at first blush, and that my greatest contribution to literature may well be to refrain from publishing something. But not to worry; my expectations are low enough to allow a good deal of material through, and I plan to have fun this month, at my own expense if necessary.

As proof of that, I now unveil my very own homemade logo:

NaPoWriMo 2016

(Feel free to copy it and use it in any way that suits you.)

Happy poetry writing!

2 responses to “NaPoWriMo, Day 1

  1. Love the logo!! I will do everybody a favor and refrain from writing poetry at all. I will simply appreciate yours.

    • I’ve tweaked the logo a bit for my next post, but I’m going to try to leave it alone for a while. I’m glad you like it. 🙂
      I enjoy being appreciated – thank you! But your not writing poetry doesn’t benefit anyone, really. *Everyone* should write poetry! It’s as good for us as exercise, clean water, and fresh air. And bad poetry is a thousand times more fun to write than good poetry, so there’s no reason *not* to write. Just do it and have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

