Prompted poetry: practice

“In the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities; in the expert’s mind there are few.” (Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind, Shunryu Suzuki)  I pray each day to be given a beginner’s mind, both as a writer and as a human being.

Grace

Each time I sit down before the blank page
I am a beginner; every time is the first time

No one has written this, not even I
It is as new as I am new to writing it

So each poem, each day, each breath
Is a gift, a chance to start from scratch

 

lent2015

Leave a Reply

