Prompted poetry: dream

I turned this prompt over in my mind all morning but couldn’t decide which of several ideas to pursue. Then I took a nap and woke up with the material I needed.

Lucid

Driving in an unfamiliar city, I take an exit
that becomes a parking lot. I brake hard, but the car continues
too fast to stop before an approaching fence. I close
my eyes and think, This is a dream.
Can I rewind this scene, or levitate
the car, or change the setting? I open them to find
myself and the car in a driveway on the other
side of the fence, unscathed. For a moment
I consider the parking lot and the freeway
beyond it. Then I shrug and drive
out to the street, wondering which way to turn.

 

lent2015

Leave a Reply

