Prompted poetry: bluffing

Though I apologize for my prolonged absence, I’m not going to try to explain beyond these two words: marching band.

My poetry buddy Doug Self tweeted for a word prompt last week, so I obliged. Here’s a link to his response (http://dougselfblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/18/bluffing/) and below is what I came up with.

Job Search

It’s a cat-and-mouse game, he said. One plays
dead, the other feigns disinterest. But which
is hunter and which is hunted? No, that’s not
quite right—

it’s a game of chicken, where each tries to guess
how far the other will go, who’s bluffing, who will flinch
first. Then again, he mused, the one who blinks
is the loser, so maybe

it’s more like dating, where each puts the best
foot forward. He nodded. The catch is, you don’t know who
is looking for a long-term relationship and who just wants
to hook up.

Oh, she said, you always have to assume
the latter.

9 responses to “Prompted poetry: bluffing

    • I’m glad! Thanks! 🙂 (WP didn’t automatically approve your comment and I was puzzled, but then I remembered you had a name change not that long ago. 😉 )

      • Thanks for remembering! The name change causes no end of problems, I’m sure I’ll still be changing paperwork and online accounts years from now.

        • I’m sure you’re right. 😦 I’ve kept my birth name, which hasn’t turned out to be less problematic, though people don’t seem as baffled by it as they were 27 years ago. Six of one, half dozen of another, as my grandmother used to say. I hope married life is treating you well. 🙂

  1. Yep, in today’s economy it’s the latter. Well done!

  2. Such a clever piece, Jennifer. I’ve definitely noticed your absence. Hope you’re doing OK. Big hug xx

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment and your concern! (Not to mention the cyber-hug!) I’m doing OK – just had a number of responsibilities converge in such a way that I decided the sanest course would be to let a few things slip down the priority list a bit. I hope to get everything rebalanced in the coming weeks. Wish me luck! 😉

Leave a Reply

