Life poetry: untitled

Someone dear to me died suddenly and unexpectedly yesterday. Words are not enough, but they are all I have at the moment.

today my heart wears
sackcloth and ashes
squats dumb upon a heap of dirt
too sad even to keen

in time the One who keeps unsleeping
watch over those who struggle
will turn this mourning
into dancing, but not today

8 responses to “Life poetry: untitled

  1. Hi Jennifer.
    I’m so sorry. Sending big (((hugs))) to you.
    My aunt died last week and the funeral was in the kids’ second day of school. I had to travel north and stay overnight without them. They were fine and I needn’t have worried, but it’s been a tiring week.
    Take care of yourself x

    • Thank you, Olivia. The hugs are especially nice. 🙂
      I’m sorry to hear about your aunt. I hope you are able to rest up on the weekend and that the second week of school goes well for everyone.

      • Yes, we’re having quite a relaxing weekend, although my husband is on call and has a few inpatients (cats and dogs) so we can’t go too far. The kiddies are exhausted but loving school thank goodness.
        Mind yourself Jennifer x

  2. Beautiful, sad. I’m sorry. ((another hug))

  3. I love the mourning into dancing line. It’s biblical and it will happen. Grieving is natural. My heart goes out to you. Blessings to you, Jennifer…

    • I’m so glad you got that reference, Carol Ann. It’s truly one of the things I’m hanging onto. I have been down this road before, and I know that it leads away from sorrow eventually. I’m very grateful to find comfort in this knowledge. Thank you for your blessings – they are as welcome and needed as hugs right now! 🙂

  4. You know, Carol Ann, your blessings reminded me of something that happened this morning at church. I was the helper for children’s worship, and one of the three-year-old has just discovered that people say, “Bless you!” when she sneezes. She kept saying, “Aa-choo!” so that everyone would bless her. Smart girl. 😉

Leave a Reply

