Overdue poetry: Fresh produce

I’m dreadfully behind despite the fact that I’ve been working like crazy for weeks. How is that possible? Some factor in this equation remains hidden to me at present. If you have any insight or suggestions, please share!

In the meantime, dear reader, please accept this summertime trifle as a token of my appreciation.

Fresh produce

the cantaloupe of desire
sits ripe and round
on the counter, its curved
fishnet skin giving off
aromatic hints of creamy
flesh within

7 responses to “Overdue poetry: Fresh produce

  1. I can relate to that, Jennifer. Sometimes we must take a break to smell the coffee – and the cantaloupe. Fresh produce is worth putting off something else in its favor. Blessings to you…

    • I tried to capture in this poem the two things that come to mind when I think of cantaloupe: that characteristic aroma, and the weird, fishnet rind. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  2. Lovely! Don’t worry Jennifer. I think there are lots of us in your boat. I can’t do anything that requires much concentration. With the kids finished school, I find every 3 minutes I’m asked ‘mummy can I…’
    Hope you’re enjoying your summer 🙂

    • Ha! I remember those days. Now that mine are teens, they don’t interrupt me every 3 minutes, but they still manage to need a good deal of my attention when they’re around. I don’t mind so much these days because I can see the light at the end of the tunnel: my oldest will go off to college in a year. When they were little, though, the light was more of a vague abstraction than a visible reality. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  3. I can smell the melon in the air. Good poem. As for being overwhelmed, think about it this way — if it won’t matter five years from now, let it go (esp. when it comes to housework).

    • Thank you! 🙂 I’m not so much overwhelmed as annoyed — I’d like to see a good deal more progress for my efforts. As for housework, well, you’ve seen my house. 😉 But it’s good advice anyway, and I’ll keep it in mind. Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave a comment.

  4. In retrospect, I should have entitled this post, “Overripe poetry Fresh produce”. 😉

Leave a Reply

