Prompted poetry: between the sheets

This prompt was from last week’s Poetry Wednesday at The Write Prompts:

Your topic is: between the sheets.
Your form is: three stanzas of varying lengths. The first stanza is what happens before, the second is what happens during, and the last stanza is what comes after.

As usual, I didn’t follow the form. The topic took me in a different direction than I expected, and I’m not sure I pulled it off. Please let me know what you think the poem is about — your feedback will be very helpful!

Blank page

between the sheets
there is nothing
but expectations

8 responses to “Prompted poetry: between the sheets

  1. Hi Jennifer.
    I’m sorry. Poetry is not my strong point and i’ve avoided writing it at all costs! So have you written a poem based on the three lines above? Will you share it with us? :o)

    • Ahhh…brevity may be the soul of wit but it can also be the seed of confusion. I’ve added the entire prompt to the post, for clarity’s sake. I responded to the words of the prompt (between the sheets), not the directions. “Blank page” is the poem I wrote; it seems I may need to expand on that a bit. 🙂 Thank you for your comment — the last thing I want to be is confusing!

  2. I think it’s either about writing in a blank notebook or having sex, or both?!

    • I was thinking of both, with emphasis on the former and echoes of the latter. And touches of insecurity as well as hope. Okay, maybe I did try to pack a little too much into three short lines… 😉

      • I felt the insecurity more than the hope, but that’s probably because I’m a bit of an Eeyore. It’s good to have ambiguity in writing, makes it more intriguing.

Leave a Reply

