Sweet surprise

For me, one of the great joys of blogging has been the other people I meet through the blogosphere. The nature of these relationships is inherently paradoxical: casual and intermittent, depending on the frequency of posting and reading, while at the same time affording moments of personal revelation over an extended period of time.

For a little while now I’ve been following Jnana’s Red Barn, the blog of an interesting man who is in turn deeply interested in life. This comes across in his poetry, his photographs, the books and blogs he talks about, the comments and observations he makes about the world. I’ve come to respect him as much as I enjoy his blog, which is to say considerably. So I am greatly honored that he nominated me for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. Thank you again, Jnana!

sweet-bloggerAccording to the rules of accepting this honor, I must now answer Five Super Sweet Questions:

  • Cookies or cake? Or both? I’ve become increasingly particular about sweets in my middle age, and given the disappointing nature of an awful lot of baked goods out there, I choose door number three: pie (especially black-bottom banana pie from Missy’s!)
  • Chocolate or vanilla? I’ve also become a chocolate snob, preferring to go without if it’s not very, very dark. So unless it’s 80% cocao or better, give me vanilla.
  • Favorite sweet treat? I’m less into sweet than I am into flavor, so anything more flavorful than it is sweet gets my vote. (See note about chocolate above.)
  • When do you crave sweet things the most? When I have a good strong cup of coffee to wash it down with.
  • Sweet nickname? Mamacita, because it was bestowed on me at Epcot by Crush, the turtle from Finding Nemo.

Next I must nominate a baker’s dozen other bloggers for this award. This was much more difficult than it seems, because I know of so many wonderful blogs. After several days of feckless dithering, here they are, in no particular order:

  • cozywalls, where I have discovered some of the most amazing recipes ever (not to mention some lovely photography)
  • FlourWaterYeast&Salt, where my dear friend Murphala talks about bread-baking, cheese-making, soap-caking, guitar-breaking, and dogs. Oh, and Tom Petty.
  • Baker Bettie, where I have discovered more amazing recipes and marvelous photography. (She’s really into cookies.)
  • Velveteen Rabbi, where Reb Rachel lets us run with her through motherhood, poetry, Torah, and other blessed cycles in our lives.
  • My Pajama Days, where Emily shares the trials and triumphs of parenting, plus the discoveries and difficulties of moving gracefully on from one part of life to the next.
  • Notes from Rumbly Cottage is one of my favorite sources of movie reviews and suggestions. I’ve also picked up recipes, craft ideas, gardening tips, and other bits of everyday wisdom there, too.
  • Eggton for recipes, true stories that make me laugh out loud, clever videos, and Thunder. (I came for the recipes, but I stayed for the Thunder.)
  • Shawn L. Bird for delightful poetry, thoughts/tips/ideas about writing, and occasional harp music.
  • Adventures in Beeland, where I have learned about beekeeping, kept abreast of what’s blooming in west London, and gotten to vicariously enjoy tea and cakes now and then.
  • Tarot in a Teacup, where I have discovered both lovely decks and interesting spreads, and get to see glimpses of summer in the depths of winter. (Monica blogs from New Zealand.)
  • Bridget’s Fire for eclectic spiritual exploration and thoughts on intentional living, parenting, and leaving our comfort zones, with a bit of Celtic flavor.
  • Multimedia Meditations for movie reviews, cultural commentary, and life observations that are marvelously off the beaten path.

Now I’m off to notify my nominees. I hope you enjoy reading their blogs!

4 responses to “Sweet surprise

  1. Thanks for the recommendations. I’m new to blogging and haven’t really gotten into it yet so this is a great way to get excited about it.

  2. I am way behind but Thank You for the nomination.

Leave a Reply

