Five Minute Friday: fall

This is the first time I’ve participated in Five Minute Friday, though I’ve used the prompts (after the fact) on several occasions. I’m not sure this fits with what’s intended, but it’s where I went.

Downhill

From the summit of her life she looks
before and behind — there’s nowhere
to go but down. At least the forward
slope has the faint attraction of novelty. She cannot
mask her disappointment that the rest of the journey
more or less amounts to a controlled fall.

Five Minute Friday

4 responses to “Five Minute Friday: fall

  1. Aaahhh, but the freefall is the easiest part. Just jump! 😉

    • I don’t think she’s looking for easy; she strikes me as a bit of an over-achiever. Myself, I’m not a big fan of freefall, though I’m all about easy. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  2. This is beautiful. It makes me want to read more, to look to where she’s going and wonder what novelty awaits her. I love reading posts that make me hunger for more. What a great first time! Hope you join up again!

    • I really appreciate both the feedback and the encouragement. I haven’t done much writing-from-a-prompt-then-linking-up, mostly because I am seldom able to write on the prompt within the specified time period. I’ll work on that. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

