Found poetry: from the library

One of the many things I enjoyed about working at publishing houses was reading Publisher’s Weekly, which made the rounds through the office each week. I always wanted to make poems out of the lists of new titles, but that wasn’t what I was being paid for so I never did.

The lines for this poem came from titles on the large print shelves at my local branch library. I haven’t modified them, though I did run a few together, just for fun.

***

the bone garden twice loved
the house of women
one true place beyond compare

the secret between us
the tarnished eye kissed by shadows
savage vision falling together

once upon a river of fire
Sonoma rose above suspicion
diving in the dark celebration

miles to go wicked all day
maybe this time the blessed exact revenge
the traveling kind

4 responses to “Found poetry: from the library

    • Thanks. I’m not sure how well the whole thing hangs together. I was determined to use all the titles I wrote down and must have reworked it a dozen times or more before I settled on this version. At least I had fun doing it. 🙂

  1. Fun is what matters, right? If it’s not enjoyable, why do it?

    And this poem is lovely – thanks so much for sharing.

    • I’ve certainly had a lot of fun writing poetry of late. I guess that means I’ll continue (loud groaning from the peanut gallery notwithstanding).

      I’m very glad you stopped by and took the time to comment — thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

