Z to A Even Day Challenge report

Now that we’re a third of the way into July, I thought I’d report on how the Z to A Even Day Challenge worked out.

I was able to stick to the schedule pretty faithfully, only missing the appointed date a couple of times. The every-other-day format allowed me to post a day late without falling behind on subsequent postings, exactly as it was intended to do. This kept the stress level very low, which was also one of the objectives.

I wrote almost every day, whether or not it was a posting day. On the  days I didn’t get to write, I thought about writing: possible topics, what I wanted to say, etc. To my mind, that’s almost as good as writing, because that’s the groundwork. With stuff in my brain clamoring to get out onto the page, I had a jump start the next time I sat down to work.

With my unplanned week off the grid, the challenge worked out almost exactly to fill the months of May and June. I wrote every day during that week away and continue to do so, though not everything I’ve written has been blog material. The real point of the exercise was to support a habit of daily writing, and it succeeded marvelously.

So where do I go from here?

  • I write every day. If I’m at a loss about what to write, I use whatever letter of the alphabet corresponds to that day’s date as a jumping off point.
  • I post to this blog at least once a week, more often if I have something appropriate.
  • I continue to read and respond to comments, to other blogs, to books and movies and the world around me.
  • I give thanks for you, my readers and companions on the journey. Your very presence encourages me more than you could know.

Onward and inward/upward/outward!

2 responses to “Z to A Even Day Challenge report

  1. Congrats, dear!!! I know what a commitment writing regularly is. You did a wonderful thing here. Looking forward to lots lots more! {hug}

Leave a Reply

