Avocado aficianado

I have become the sort of person who always has at least one avocado in the house. In fact, when I eat my last avocado, I feel a little panicky: what if I want some avocado before I have a chance to stop at the store?

Growing up, I don’t think I even knew what an avocado was. For all I know, they didn’t carry them in the grocery stores where I lived. My first true experience with avocados happened while visiting friends in Santa Fe. We went to a local restaurant where they made guacamole fresh, at your table, while you watched. It was amazingly delicious, and I was in love.

I started looking for avocados in my local grocery, buying them whenever I found them and making my own guacamole. Then another friend, who had lived in Santa Fe for several years, introduced me to sliced avocado on a sandwich. She puts turkey, a slice of bacon, Monterey Jack cheese, and sliced avocado on toasted wheat bread spread with homemade pesto mayonnaise. It’s incredible! Now I had something else to make with avocados!

Now I put avocado in my Southwest chicken soup; I put it on tacos and burritos; I eat avocado wedges with chicken salad, and sometimes I just scoop it out of the shell with a spoon and eat it plain. I recently found a recipe for tuna salad with avocado, which I will be making for lunch the next time I eat at home.

What’s your favorite avocado recipe?

(The image above is from http://whatscookingamerica.net/avacado.htm, which has some great information about choosing and using avocados.)

8 responses to “Avocado aficianado

  1. Johannes and I love avocado, too. We cut a ripe avocado in half, remove the pit, and spread on a thin coating of mayonnaise. Scoop it out with a spoon and enjoy!

  2. I love all of your avocado ideas, and I hope you will enjoy the tuna-guac 🙂 I also really like avocado slices mixed in with cold soba noodles, jalepeno, lime… I wrote an earlier post about that here: http://cozywalls.com/2011/06/08/you-are-one-nutty-noodle-2/ This weekend I will be having avocado tacos, thanks to you!!

    • Oh my goodness — I love soba and sesame seed and ginger and lime and, and, and — I love every ingredient in this recipe! Thank you so much for the link! I even happen to have a couple packages of soba in the cupboard (another thing I feel strangely insecure without). I’m definitely gonna need more avocados.

  3. Love them too! I found that supermarkets are iffy with the ripeness–one is almost black and the next is like a grenade, but I found that our local Sam’s club has the most reliably ripe avocados at a remarkably good price. Love them though, the creamy rich insides! I’m going to have to brave this inferno and go to the store!

    • Hmm. I may have to put my mother-in-law on the lookout for avocados at Sam’s. (She has a membership.) Thanks for the tip, and be sure you check out the awesome cold noodle recipe in Amy’s link above!

  4. Scriptor Obscura

    I really like avocados. I think they’re great. Really delicious! And good for you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

