Dough!

(I’ll be off the grid for a week, so the Z to A Even Day Blog Challenge is on hold until I get back.)

(image from Amazon.com)

At the library last week, I saw a new cookbook that I must have: The Cookie Dough Lover’s Cookbook, by food blogger Lindsay Landis. It’s chock-full of recipes featuring egg-free cookie dough made to be eaten raw. I knew this book was for me when I read the following:

This book is dedicated to anyone who’s ever been caught with a finger in the mixing bowl.

When I was growing up, we always doubled any cookie dough recipe we made because otherwise there would be no cookies. We all ate the cookie dough, raw eggs notwithstanding, and with five people dipping into the mixing bowl, a single batch of dough wouldn’t yield much more than one pan of cookies.

From the moment I walked in the house with this book, my daughter badgered me to make things from it. The first night, she insisted on making Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pudding. Pudding made from scratch involves a lot of time standing at the stove, stirring, which explains why instant pudding is so popular. She gamely hung in there, declining my offers to relieve her. The pudding didn’t cool in time to eat that night, but we had a festive dessert after dinner the next evening.

We next made a batch of classic Chocolate Chip Dough. It was delicious! We didn’t feel so great after snarfing down the entire batch, however, and agreed in future to divide the dough and set a portion of it aside before we start eating. That strategy worked well with the Peanut Butter Dough we made next, which we modified by using half whole wheat flour and adding chocolate chips.

Aside from the delicious doughs themselves, the cookbook offers recipes in which dough plays a decadent part: truffles, fudge, brownies, pie, cheesecake, frozen treats, granola bars, pancakes, fritters, and more. The directions are easy to follow and the photography is truly drool-worthy.

(I apologize for not having any pictures, but we ate everything before I thought about this blog post. The truth is, I find it hard to think about anything at all when faced with a bowlful of cookie dough.)

Leave a Reply

