Z to A Even Day Challenge

The April A to Z Challenge was a great way to jump-start my writing again, though I found the daily aspect an unwelcome source of added stress. If I had participated from the beginning rather than hopping on near the end as I did, I think I would have been thoroughly burnt out with the whole thing by now.

The upshot is that I’ve decided to attempt a variation on this writing/blogging challenge for the next several weeks. The idea is to post on every even-numbered calendar day, which allows a little more time to think and polish. My hope is to raise the quality of the published writing and reduce the amount of stress associated therewith.

I’ve also decided to work my way backwards through the alphabet, as I found the letter prompts arbitrary enough to inspire creativity but predictable enough get me thinking ahead. I plan to be more subtle with this challenge and abandon the “X is for Y” approach, which becomes tedious after a bit.

If you decide to follow along in your own writing, I’d love to hear about it. Your company on this journey is most welcome, either as a reader or a fellow writer.

5 responses to “Z to A Even Day Challenge

  1. Can’t wait for the 4th! and the 6th! And the 8th! I admire the discipline it takes to follow through on a set goal with very specific objectives. I thought about doing this with you (actually at the tail end of April!) and figured unless I did a sidebar or something, it just wouldn’t work for me. And this is another reason I don’t have a novel yet. Daily disciplined writing is not part of my makeup. Key word “disciplined”. Hang in there, keep it up and you know I’ll be looking forward to it! 🙂

    • Bah! Posting daily for months (as you have) requires discipline. Just because I intend to use this challenge to maintain a daily writing habit doesn’t mean anyone else has to. Use it any way you’d like. (That goes for the rest of you lurkers, too.) Write several things all at once and schedule them to post on the appropriate dates. In the immortal words of the Isley Brothers, “It’s your thing; do what you wanna do.”

      • That’s exactly what I do…it’s funny. I’ll look at my posting queue and say “Oh crap, I don’t have anything lined up” and I’ll make time to sit down and put stuff together. One post begets another and then a memory pops up, or something happens. This happened two days ago, and now I have 6 lined up, and I threw 3 away. I still have to obsessively pick and edit them until they go live (and take pictures) but sitting down to write is like opening a faucet!

        I’m going to have that Isley Bros song lurking in my brain for the rest of the day now. 🙂 Write on!

  2. Actually, some of the most fun A to Z entries on other blogs were nothing more than brainstorming lists triggered by the prompt letter. What could be easier? 🙂

  3. I’ll have to go hunt some of those down. Waiting eagerly for tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

