Z is for zero

…days left in the April A-Z Challenge!

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to what I’ll do when the month ends. I’ve posted more consistently (and gotten more traffic) than at any time since I began this blog, and I hate to lose that momentum. On the other hand, I’ve come to see that there is a certain tyranny in the requirement to post daily: the demands can be wearing on readers and blogger alike. I think I’ve seen a certain degree of reader fatigue, and I know that the quality of the posts has not been consistently what I would like it to be.

I’ve been trying to cultivate the habit of daily writing for some time now, but that sort of writing isn’t always fit for publication. I think journals are a good place to do that, and I’ve been making use of mine for that purpose. A fair amount of what I’ve written on a daily basis hasn’t made it to the blog, but it has been good for me to be stretched by the letter prompts and by the need to produce something postable every day. I’m not sure, however, that it’s a sustainable practice for me over the long term.

In the interest of everyone’s sanity, I’ve decided to institute the Z-A Even Day Challenge. I will work my way backwards through the alphabet (since I missed the first two-thirds of it) with the commitment to post on even-numbered calendar days. This will take me through May and well into June, by which time I hope to figure out something else to do to keep myself writing.

I’ll keep you posted, and I’d love to hear any feedback or ideas you might have. Thanks for reading!

2 responses to “Z is for zero

  1. Well, you knew I was going to comment! 🙂 YAY that you’re going to continue. I was sad when this day came, when I knew your challenge would be over. I loved what you came up with and I’m always delighted to come here to read it. Always. And throw in my 2 cents.

    I have to say I agree, that the commitment to writing (and posting) something daily is somewhat of a pressure. And especially so since I now know that people actually show up daily to read something! That I’m on their list of blogs to read! Ack! But my year-long blogging commitment grows out of a need not to just write, but to do. It gets me out of my chair (sometimes) to do things that are share-worthy. And writing and storytelling kind of grows out of that. But we’re all different and our goals for what we do are different. I’m glad to see you’re honing in on yours as different as they may be from mine and from anyone else’s! I just have to say, Jennifer, keep writing for us. Your visitors love you!

    • Faced with such effusive praise, I have no choice but to keep writing. ;-D
      (Aw, shucks!)

      As a reader, I’ve found that I appreciate the blogs I follow that post regularly but not necessarily daily, because I very often have even less time to read than I have to write. I end up with a backlog of posts, which often means I don’t have time to comment on everything I might want to, though I do try to at least read every post.

      I sincerely hope that posting every other day doesn’t short-circuit the writing habit I’ve tentatively established. My wish is that it will give me a little more time to come up with and polish the writing I do post. I guess we’ll see over the course of the next week or so. Thanks so much for being a faithful commenter as well as a faithful reader. 🙂

Leave a Reply

