V is for vacillate…

…though that is not, strictly speaking, the subject of this post. I discovered a wonderful synonym for the word: tergiversate! (tuh-JIV-uh-sate or TUH-jiv-uh-sate) Not only is it fun to say, it has the most deliciously wicked meaning:

  • to change sides or loyalties — become apostate
  • to be evasive or ambiguous — to equivocate

Its Latin roots mean to turn back, but to me it calls to mind someone playing both sides against the middle, which seems more sinister than being either a double agent or someone who flip-flops.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to use some form of this word in a written piece that does not exceed 300 words. Go!

(This post will self-destruct in 10 seconds.)

3 responses to “V is for vacillate…

  1. This reminds me of the game we used to play at work…remember? Someone would send out a bizarre word and based on what we knew of Latin and Greek roots, figure out the meaning? I’m happy to see you’re a still a language geek! That you haven’t tergiversated… HA! Didn’t think I could do it, but I did! Did you know tergiversate was the word of the year in 2011? HA! I used it again!

    • I bow before your awesome linguigeekiness. And I had no idea it was the word of the year in 2011. (It figures; I’m always behind the curve.)

      Since you are the first to take up my writing challenge, I’ll have to root around and find some white elephant really cool item to send you as punishment for your temerity reward for your creativity. Congratulations! 🙂

      (Since you used it twice, I might even find TWO things to send you. HA!)

  2. LOL! Hey, I didn’t even think I could use it ONCE.

Leave a Reply

