Geek holiday overload

March 14 is such an exciting day!

1. Pi Day – Today’s date can be written in month/day format like this: 3.14, which happens to match the first three digits of the mathematical constant, pi. People around the world celebrate this holiday by eating pie, reciting as many digits of pi as they can, and talking about both (pie and pi). Happy Pi Day!

2. Albert Einstein’s birthday – The world’s most respected patent clerk was born on this date in 1879. People around the world commemorate the occasion by discussing physics — or at least reciting the equation E = mc (squared) — and wearing fabulously big hair.

3. Save a Spider Day – This is my favorite thing about today, because I love spiders! (See my other spider-related posts for details.) I haven’t seen any since the large jumping spider my son found hiding in his bath towel last month. (I’m not sure who was more freaked out by the encounter, but I’m happy to report that both survived.) I did walk through a bit of spider web in the yard yesterday, though, which I was pretty excited about (once I stopped ninja dancing to get it off me, of course.)

In the spirit of the day, I invite you to eat some pie, tease your hair, and read this winning contest entry by Brandon J., “Spider Day.” A fellow spider dork salutes you, Brandon!

2 responses to “Geek holiday overload

  1. Woo hoo! This post makes me happy! I have some apples so you bet I’m going to bake a pie. I think I will even carve a π symbol into it to vent the steam. (I’m hoping this takes html character codes…)

    Thank you for this! I co-exist with spiders, sometimes. I don’t kill them, but I do shuffle them outdoors when I can. As for Einstein hair, I think I’m good. I still have bedhead because I’m on spring break and nobody is going to see it. Happy geek day!

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      It *does* take html character codes, but I’m too lazy to figure all that out. I’m impressed that you did, though. 🙂

      I hope you had a very happy, geeky day. I didn’t actually get any pie, I didn’t see so much as a spider’s web, and I so desperately need a hair cut that a lightning strike wouldn’t give me big hair…but I got to write about it. And that made my day.

Leave a Reply

