Romance sandwich (splash fiction)

She was the tomato to his lettuce, the bacon to his mayonnaise. Their bread was toasted, exquisitely crisp without being dry. Then she sensed something was amiss: where did that slice of turkey come from?

 

 

Today’s splash fiction was inspired by this week’s Red Writing Hood prompt:
“Plump tomatoes, salty bacon, crisp lettuce, soft bread, this week we want you to be inspired by the BLT. Write a piece of either fiction or creative non-fiction based on this photo.”

7 responses to “Romance sandwich (splash fiction)

  1. LOL! Awesome! Funny thing is I made turkey club sandwiches for dinner last night. Must have been the vibe going around…

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      I knew there was something wrong with that picture! The poor girl thought she was the featured ingredient, and it turned out she was just an accent flavor.

  2. That sandwich looks yum! Nice work on that prompt. 😉

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      Thanks! I saw the picture, and those lines just popped into my head. I’m glad you liked them.

      Thank you, too, for stopping by and commenting. I’m looking forward to visiting your blog, too. (One of the best things about blogging is discovering other people’s blogs.)

  3. Sorry I meant to say aww that was nice – in that it was different and unexpected. I love “the bacon to his mayonnaise.”

    You could write greeting cards “happy anniversary my darling, you are the bacon to my mayonnaise”

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      Thanks for the feedback and the greeting card suggestion. Given the brevity of most things I write these days, maybe I ought to look into the greeting card market.

      I’m glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

