Madwoman, part 2

As a follow-up to my Madwoman in the Kitchen post, I made waffles this morning. Here’s how I did it and how it turned out:

Just before going to bed last night, I mixed the following together in a my big, yellow Pyrex bowl:

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 tbsp yeast
  • 4-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp kosher salt

I put a dinner plate over the bowl and left it on the counter overnight. When I got up this morning, I added the following:

  • 1 cup milk, warmed
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

I poured a scant cup onto the heated waffle iron, shut the lid, and let it cook. It sizzled as the batter spread in the iron, and a little bit of batter drizzled out the corners (I’ve a square waffle iron). The waffles turned out crispy and golden, and I didn’t even have to spritz the iron with oil (all that butter in the batter).

Here’s the post-mortem:

This amount of batter made six 10 x 10 inch waffles, which was more than we could eat. I know that sounds impossible, since 6-foot-tall teenage boy with two hollow legs eats at my table, but the waffles are so rich (all that butter) that even he couldn’t eat more than one whole waffle at a single sitting. Unless I’m feeding more people, next time I’ll cut it in half and use the remaining proofed dough for bread or something.

The waffles were so buttery tasting (all that butter!) that even my butter-freak daughter (who has been known to eat butter…plain) ate them straight up. I drizzled a little real maple syrup on mine; it was divine!

I’d say this was a success; it wasn’t difficult and both kids seemed to really like the results. (As you can see, my food photography skills haven’t improved, but maybe that comes of using inferior equipment — I used an old I-Phone for ease of photo transfer.) I’ll throw the leftovers in the freezer for quick toaster waffles on school mornings.

4 responses to “Madwoman, part 2

  1. Wow! You’ve inspired me. My Saturday’s waffles were missing something. I’ll have to keep the Bisquick on the shelf and break out the cookbook next time! Looks good!

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      You don’t need no stinkin’ cookbook, girl — the recipe’s right here! OK, OK; it’s not so much a recipe as a detailed suggestion. If you do consult your cookbook, think “mayonnaise cake” and let your imagination run wild. ;-D

  2. you have a big yellow pyrex bowl! I lust for one. My mom had one and that’s the one I learned to mix everything in! 🙂

    This sounds fantastic (all that butter)! I have both a square waffle iron AND a big belgian waffle iron. Ridiculous. Anyway, I’ll try this one weekend morn with the belgian waffler. The extras won’t freeze as well as those square ones though, so maybe I’ll make belgians, and then make the rest square for freezing and the toaster! My arteries are clogging as we speak…

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      I know so many people who grew up in a house with a big yellow Pyrex mixing bowl! I found mine at the Goodwill ages ago, and I couldn’t believe my luck. (My mother still has hers, and I think one of my sisters has dibs on it.) If I see another, I’ll get it for you.

      I bet this batter would be fabulous in a Belgian waffler. Maybe I’ll ask around and see if someone has one I could borrow, for the sake of culinary science…

Leave a Reply

