Sufficient unto the day

When I started this blog, I included the word “daily” in its title as incentive to write every day. What I didn’t fully appreciate is that writing every day does not mean I will produce something publishable every day.

In all honesty, I haven’t actually written daily since founding the blog. I’ve fallen off the wagon more than once, for weeks at a time in some instances, but the blog has nevertheless served its intended purpose. My writing practice has been more consistent over the past 27 months than at any time since the years BC (before children). Despite feelings of inadequacy that beset me when I don’t post every day, I can truly say that my writing habits have improved. I’ve written nearly every day since a much-needed getaway in August, and my mental muscles have begun to show the effect of regular exercise in the form of more frequent posts.

On this particular day, I am able to tell myself, “Don’t get discouraged.” Even if I do not reach the goal, at least I seem to be moving in the right direction. And today, by the grace of God, that’s enough.

2 responses to “Sufficient unto the day

  1. One of my most recent favorite writers said that for one book she did about 17 re-writes and ended up changing the main character, the love interest, the bad boy and the good one. What she retained was the setting. And that book is now being made into a movie. Writing is all about practice. Keep it up.

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      As much as I know that in my head and heart, it is perniciously difficult (for me) to hold to that discipline in my life. Too many demands on my time, not enough “no”s on my lips!

      Thanks so much for reading, and for the encouragement. Your own blogging habits are a real inspiration for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

