Tag, you’re it!

Thanks to another blogger I follow, Emily at Pajama Days, I have something to write about today. It seems that a popular form of spam-mail has made its way into the blogosphere: The List of Revealing and/or Amusing Personal Questions. In the e-mailverse you answer a series of questions about yourself and forward it to everyone you know. By this means we are all supposed to become better acquainted with one another, and I confess this has brought some surprising things to light about people I’ve known for years. In the blogosphere, you post your responses and invite readers to follow suit, asking them to post a comment with a link so you can read what they have written. Although I suppose the results are much the same, I find this version of the game far less intrusive and annoying, a kinder, gentler sort of chain letter, if you will.

So without further ado, here are my responses:

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have? Why? Superpower? Heck, I’d be fall-on-my-knees-and-kiss-the-ground grateful to have ordinary powers.

2. Who is your style icon? Whoever dresses the mannequin at the Goodwill.

3. What is your favorite quote? Today it is: “Patient has two teenage children but no other abnormalities.” (From an unidentified medical chart.)

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received? To the best of my current recollection, which is severely limited and fragmentary, it was last night at the dinner table. I prepared a new recipe for supper, and everyone at the table had seconds and exclaimed both how good it was and how much they liked it. (I am notorious for trying out new recipes on my long-suffering family with mixed — or worse — results.)

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now? I don’t have a CD player or an iPod.  Recently the classical music station I used to listen to switched to an all-day talk format, so I don’t even listen to the radio much anymore.

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person? By nature I am a night owl, but by decree of the school corporation I follow the schedule of a morning person.

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats? At this point I prefer pet rocks.

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name? My reason for choosing the name is lost in the mists of the above-mentioned memory deficiency. Right now, I’d say it serves as a reminder that the principles of entropy and decay are ubiquitous and unrelenting. In other words, there’s not a damn thing any of us can do about them so we might as well make the best of it.

It seems pretty obvious to me that I inhabit an entirely different universe from most of my fellow bloggers. Nevertheless, I invite you, gentle reader, to take part in this little exercise in self-exploration, whether or not you choose to share it with me.

6 responses to “Tag, you’re it!

  1. Jennifer…
    It’s nice to get to know you better. 🙂
    blessings, and thanks for sharing–and, I totally agree with the fashion designer at the Goodwill. That’s right up my alley, and fits in my budget.
    🙂
    jane

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      Thanks, Jane! 🙂
      I usually think of these things as fairly shallow, but I’m sure any therapist worth her salt could have a field day with them. (If any therapists are reading this, please feel free to chime in.)

  2. I almost jumped out of my seat laughing so hard at your Goodwill comment. Oh how many times I have walked by a mannequin at the Salvation Army Store and thought, “Now why couldn’t I have thought of that!” I think once, one of the items was actually something that I had donated!

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      Oh, the delicious irony! Clearly, we need to hire these people to work their magic with our wardrobes *before* we thin them. Hmm…might be a whole new line of consulting jobs for thrift store folks?

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

  3. I love the patient has two teenage children… Right now with my aging Maggie I can feel you on the pet rock comment! (in addition our fish keeps eating the snails but we need snails to keep his tank clean!) Thanks for posting this. You made me laugh!

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      A friend showed me that quote at the library, and I actually snorted — very loudly — trying to suppress my reaction! Of course, that was far worse than the laughter would have been, and we nearly wet ourselves trying to get outside before our heads exploded.

Leave a Reply

