Notes from the parenting frontier

Last month I picked up a new (to me) magazine at the co-op: hip Mama. Like many periodicals these days, it has both a print and online incarnation. I decided to check out the online version today, where I found a blog entry that really resonated with me.

The plaintive title “i want a best friend” caught my eye from a sidebar, and I clicked the link (http://www.hipmama.com/node/42477) to find a post that is both current and relevant. Today I had the afternoon off from the 24/7 joys of summertime parenting: I went to lunch and a movie by myself because I had no one to go with.

It can be difficult for primary caregivers to make personal needs a priority, and even more difficult to arrange to have time free to meet those personal needs. Although I understand why other parents seldom have time when I do, it nevertheless feels terribly discouraging when my efforts to set aside personal time only result in further solitude because no one else is there to share it with me.

It’s very tempting to think that it’s just me, that I’m impaired or defective or just plain whiny, but then I read these notes from other solitary outposts on the parenting frontier and realize that there may be something to this after all.

http://lex

ington.craigslist.org/com/1272359392.html

2 responses to “Notes from the parenting frontier

  1. Miss you Jen! Wish you were here! 🙂 What movie did you see? I’m looking forward to the new one about Julia Child. I haven’t been to the movies in a couple years now, but maybe I’ll head out to see Julia. (anything foodie!)

    • Jennifer Barricklow

      As you can see, I miss you as well! I went to see a matinee showing of the new Harry Potter — very well done, in my opinion. I’ll probably post a review of it one of these days. Also really looking forward to the Julia movie; saw the book last year and almost bought it; loved the premise. Was thinking of you yesterday and your evil chocolate cake with ganache. Mmmm. 🙂

Leave a Reply

