Innovative home (brewed) business

Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

This unattested saying is often attributed to Benjamin Franklin, though beer scholar Bob Skilnik has pointed out that Franklin actually wrote something similar about wine, not beer. This aphorism clearly appeals to beer drinkers far more strongly than to wine drinkers, because the (accurate) wine version is virtually unknown.

Enter the Southern Fried Science blog, which offers detailed instructions on how to brew beer in a coffee maker. The authors of the blog are two marine biology graduate students who have had the opportunity to work out some of the kinks (“perfect” is far too strong a word) in this process during lengthy ocean expeditions. The result is a beverage of variable, though generally low, quality, but I’m sure it compares favorably with the potent potables that desperate seagoing folk have improvised since time immemorial. After all, this is the 21st century, and these guys are scientists!

The directions are so simple and straightforward that I am tempted to try my hand at this, though I’m sure the coffee drinker in my household (who is not a beer drinker) would be very unhappy. Perhaps this would be an excellent use for one of those used coffee makers I see at the Salvation Army from time to time. It would certainly provide a good excuse to grow hops in the yard, which is an idea I’ve been toying with for a couple of years. (They’re really lovely plants.)

Yep, this could be the year I finally grow hops and start my own microbrewery. Think I might qualify for some of that economic stimulus money?

One response to “Innovative home (brewed) business

  1. I must try this! I’ll use my spare coffeemaker, though – I’m not going to take a chance on ruining my good one!
    Love the blog name – check mine out, you’ll find out why! 🙂

Leave a Reply

